ASUU LAUTECH Awards Scholarships to Seven Indigent Students

In a heartening display of commitment to academic excellence and equitable education, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) at Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) held its 2023 Indigent Student Scholarship Awards ceremony. The event, which took place in Ogbomoso, Nigeria, marked a significant initiative by ASUU LAUTECH to support students facing financial constraints in their pursuit of higher education

ASUU LAUTECH Awards Scholarships to Seven Indigent Students

In a commendable effort to promote accessible education and support brilliant but financially challenged students, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) chapter, awarded scholarships to seven indigent students during its 2023 indigent student scholarship program.

The screening process for the scholarship, meticulously coordinated by Prof. Teleem Asafa, aimed to identify deserving candidates who demonstrated academic excellence despite facing financial constraints.

During the presentation ceremony to the beneficiaries, the Chairman of ASUU LAUTECH, Babatunde Akeem Lawal, expressed the Union's unwavering commitment to nurturing the potential of bright students and contributing to their personal and societal development through educational support.

Lawal emphasized, "ASUU will continue to champion the cause of qualitative public education and simultaneously address crucial welfare issues for its members. Poverty should not hinder brilliant students from accessing and pursuing education."

Acknowledging the financial challenges faced by the union, Lawal assured that ASUU LAUTECH is dedicated to utilizing its limited resources to uplift the lives of deserving yet economically disadvantaged students.

He stated, "For us in the Union, we fight for qualitative public education so that the children of the poor will not be hindered from becoming future leaders and great thinkers in society."

The scholarship beneficiaries and their respective awards are as follows:

1. Akerele, Ifeoluwa David, Food Science (N200,000)

2. Jokotola, Funmilola Adeloyin, Medicine (N200,000)

3. Akanbi Kehinde Y., Computer Engineering (N100,000)

4. Abdulkabir Islamiyat Adenike, Agric Economics (N100,000)

5. Olorode, Christianah Oluwatoyin, Agric Economics (N100,000)

6. Abideen, Fathia Ajoke, Biochemistry (N100,000)

7. Oladeebo, Nurat Oyindamola, PA Chemistry (N100,000)

Read Also: LAUTECH Issues Notice on Commencement of Verification Exercise for New Students for 2023/2024 Session

Expressing their gratitude, the scholarship recipients conveyed their heartfelt appreciation to ASUU LAUTECH for the invaluable support. They pledged to make the most of the opportunity granted to them, promising to work diligently to excel in their academic pursuits.

ASUU LAUTECH continues to stand as a beacon of hope for underprivileged students, exemplifying its commitment to fostering a brighter future through accessible and quality education.